What Are Some Plumbing Laws I Should Watch Out For?Updated December 23, 2013
If you want to maintain your status as a fine, upstanding citizen, you've got to use caution in navigating the tangled web of laws in this country. Here are a few plumbing laws you might not be aware of, so you can avoid them. Although it's true that many of these laws just have fines attached, some of them can really put you behind bars for a lot longer than you want.
Don't Even the Odds
In some states, they have decided to take an easy approach to water conservation. While in Denver we often have multiple groups for watering, these states just make it a law that if your address is even, it's illegal to water on an odd-numbered day. And vice-versa.
No More Than Two
Sometimes water conservation takes an odd turn. On Waldron Island in Washington, it's illegal to install more than two toilets that use potable water in a building. Although some people point out that installing fewer toilets in a building wouldn't necessarily decrease water usage (it might just mean that the toilets get flushed more, leading to the same amount of water usage), this ordinance is probably aimed at larger structures that need to have more than two toilets, with the goal of forcing them to install non-potable water toilets.
Don't Go in the Water
It's illegal to go swimming in reservoirs of the Athens-Clarke County water system. It's also illegal to go parasailing or camp near the reservoir. Violating the law could lead to a fine of up to $1000 and 60 days in jail.
Don't Do Your Business There, Either
Even more serious is if a person is found urinating or defecating in a water supply in Louisiana, they can go to jail for up to 20 years, if there's a foreseeable danger associated with the act. If there's no foreseeable danger, then the penalty is only up to 5 years in prison.
Impersonating a Plumber
In many states, you can go to jail for performing the work of a plumber if you don't hold the proper license. In Maryland, for example, the fine may be a fine of $100 or six months in jail for EACH DAY you commit the offense, with a maximum fine of up to $5000.